While I was at the Clinic!

It’s a two post Monday!
the first one is on something I was thinking about while I was in the clinic.(For my regular readers,who are wondering why would I be in a clinic for a mere case of measles,it’s because I stay in a hostel,and anyone who comes down with a contagious disease is treated as a social outcast!)
………………………………………………………………………….

The world is a sea of pretentions.Fools pretend to be intelligent,cheats pretend to be honest,foes pretend to be friends, and all of us go through such stress trying to be what we are not.We are so mindful of what others think of us that we forget what we think of ourselves.

But what I have learnt so far is that trying to please others is like trying to move a mountain.There are very few people who are really happy with one’s succes.Hence,I have acquired this care-a-damn attitude about what others think of me.I hate to pretend and always try to be my own self.It is difficult but once you acquire this ,it can be the most comforting and liberating attitude to have.I am still pretty popular because I am a fun character to be with.But I doubt how many of them will be around when bad times come upon me.

It’s easy to be the centre of attraction at the hostel mess table ,cracking jokes and sharp,witty one liners.What is difficult,is to find a person to talk to when you don’t have any joke to crack.It’s easy to gather “friends” for the party one throws,what is difficult is to find a friend who will listen and comfort you when you fail the exam.It’s easy to find people for company for a stroll in the garden,what is difficult is to find a friend to accompany you during a hard trip under a burning sun.And I realise that there will be times when I will have no wit to entertain anybody,when I would have failed in the test of life.It is in these times when a true friend is needed.And for this true friend,I would not need to pretend.The friend would not need me to be someone he /she desires,but would accept me for what I am..It is so very difficult to find such a person,but the best part is that to find him/her,you don’t need to pretend to be someone else.

RECENT DEVELOPMENT-
I am glad I found atleast one such friend!

14 thoughts on “While I was at the Clinic!

  1. These seem to be some really deeply felt observations. Once in a while it is precious indeed to come across the ‘same old’ wisdom expressed as sincerely as in this post. I am happy to know about the new person in your life and send you a truckload of warm wishes and hugs!

    Hope ki ab tabiyat achhi hai tumhaari and you are back to the mess table with all kinds of stupid jokes and intelligent one-liners! Achha ye batao- Kadahi mein chicken pak raha tha….jab oopar se dhaniya daala gaya to kadahi mein chicken dance karne laga…..Can you guess the song that the chicken was dancing to?? Bolo bolo…tell tell….!!

  2. Your opening line nearly chased me away! You see, I am cutting down on reading ‘posts’.

    Your disillusion is acute but not without truth. There are more pretenders than cockroaches in this world. What bugs me though, you had to write a post even after that ‘care-a-damn’ attitude.

    Those coded (and not-so-coded) exchange with Amit brought back memories of hostel days.

  3. Learnt that a long time ago…..and yes it is very liberating to stop trying to please all and sundry. Wishing you many more ‘true’ friends πŸ™‚

  4. very good post mere bhai!

    Measles – along with what all you did not want, also, gave you the richest flavor of truth and friendship. I am happy to have known you, and especially in your college years! Keep it up.

    Pretension is not too bad either. Several battles in the history were fought only for not pretending! So, it’s okay to pretend sometimes to save the face and situation. Take care bhai.

    Hope you’d be recovered very well by now.

Have your say!

